Back In Cornwall & Home At Last

If you follow me on Facebook, you know I arrived home in Cornwall early yesterday evening. John met me at the gate and I was over the moon to see him. As we live about 4.5 hours from London, he was a bit tired before the day was over. When he meets me at Heathrow, he likes to do the drive in one day preferring a 9 hour drive (500 miles) to an overnight stay in London. He took this photo right when I saw him. I can’t say the woman behind me looks as happy as I do to be there. (Click to enlarge)

Back At Heathrow After Three Months Away

When we made it home, I walked back into my studio space to find a lovely surprise. I had a happy tear or two when I saw John’s thoughtful and unexpected gift. Can you guess what it was …

Is that not the sweetest, most darling, best bike, you’ve ever seen? John said that I need some Brogues and a tweed skirt and I’ll be kitted out just right for my new retro looking bike. My sister Margaret would say that I need a helmet. I do have one, but it’s not retro so I may need to look for one on the London Cycle Chic site.

I think my face says it all … happy, happy, happy!  Now if I can just navigate the narrow lanes without crashing into anything, I’ll be good.

UPDATE: The first ride …

After making a few adjustments to my bike, I changed into pair of cycling shorts cleverly as a skirt and  John and I went for a ride up on the moor. The route we took through the lanes was stunning with color from the wildflowers that were everywhere and the green of the hedges.

I can’t even describe how it looked and felt except to say I was overwhelmed by it all and felt like I was going to have a happy cry more than a time or two. My urban stress melted away out there. Poof! It was gone, just like that.

I loved it! I’d say that my spinning days will quite happily be taking place outdoors. Some of the hills increased my heart rate in the same way my spin classes did and the sheep and wild ponies made for lovely view. I wish you all could have this experience.

18 thoughts on “Back In Cornwall & Home At Last

  1. Wow Elizabeth … that’s just the sort of bike I want! Can’t be doing with one of those knife-edge saddles with my rather too ample bottom on display! Welcome home … : )

  2. What a wonderful present! And you look great on it, Elizabeth! I totally agree with you about the helmet, though, my bike is very similar to yours (but black) and in a country where pretty much everyone wears helmets these days I refuse to because it would cramp my style 🙂 What I love about this kind of bike is that I can wear normal clothes, including long skirts, on it. Here in America I get a lot of comments on it but when I was in Germany and Holland the other day I had to smile at how no-one would blink an eye over it there. That is such a thoughtful present, what a gem John is! xo

  3. So happy for you that you’re ‘home’ once again. Love the bike and l.o.v.e the joy reflected on your face in the pics.

  4. I love the pic at the airport, captures a lovely moment. As to the helmets, I checked out the site and thought the helmet shaped like a hat was adorable.

  5. Glad you made it home and are clearly in the pink! Love the bike. It’s going to be 100 stinkin’ degrees here today!

  6. Love this: “I can’t even describe how it looked and felt except to say I was overwhelmed by it all and felt like I was going to have a happy cry more than a time or two. My urban stress melted away out there. Poof! It was gone, just like that.”
    and the photo of you toodling along the bridge, and your description of the green and sheep and . . .and. . . and. . .

    What a perfect, wonderful gift. That John, you should keep him! : )

  7. I’m SO glad for you! That bike looks wonderful and you look radiant with joy in each of those pictures. I’ve never understood spinning vs being outside on a bike–so I’m glad you get to continue outside!

    I LOVE the cactus pictures. Beautiful shots.

  8. Back in Blighty. You are a lucky bunny. Keep one of those lemon tarts you are going to make for me – diet or no diet. Amen.

  9. So happy you are home with your beloved. I love your new bike! What a great gift, and especially love the darling front basket I have a darling one too my husband got me about 4 years ago. It’s a bright red trike with black mag wheels and a large metal tote basket in the rear which I can load with two granddaughters. What fun we have with that trike! LOL…

  10. What an incredibly lovely, lovely ,sweet, considerate and generous husband you have. If I didn’t also have one of my own I would be very jealous. I often have no words to express how much I love and appreciate my Dave. He is one of the best thing that ever happened to me. I bet you feel that way about John too.

Leave a comment