What Old Family Photos Can Reveal About You

This is my great-grandmother on my paternal side. I saw this photograph for the first time about five or six years ago and it led to a discovery I had not anticipated. She and I share more than just DNA although what I discovered in this photograph is due to our genes. Can you guess what it might be? The baby she is holding is my grandmother and I can see that she has it too. (See update regarding this photo at the end of the post)

Need another clue?  This is my dad as a boy. The quality is not as nice, but you can still spot what I discovered if you look.

Here’s one more photo of my dad taken when he was about twelve. I think what I’m referring to is pretty obvious, but I’d like to hear from you.

What do you think the three of us might have in common?

UPDATES: John thinks the photo above it is more likely my great-great-grandmother, Clarenda who was born in 1869 and would be about 42 in this picture, but I still think it’s my great grandmother Eunice at age 20 holding her daughter Clara (Hmm … I wonder if my grandmother was named Clara to honor her grandmother, my great-great grandmother) Maybe John is right, but I think a 42 year-old woman would look older in 1911 than the woman above.

Now I’ve got to go hunt for the photo to see if it has anything written on the back. Free free to share your opinion.

8 thoughts on “What Old Family Photos Can Reveal About You

  1. Is it bad eye sight, as the eyes are the windows to the soul, this indicates, that only the special people can see inside.
    Or is it that one ear is higher than the other, I think mine are too, as for them sticking out, well you might be related to Prince Charles.
    Or is it the facial features running true to form throughout the family line, of course the people back then, did not have the kind of life that we have today, and so would look a lot older than we would think they are. Have I spent up my guesses, is there a prize?
    Sandy.

  2. the cleft on your chin….it’s a dominant trait genetically speaking. our son in law has it, and our two grand daughters have it also.
    Judith

  3. I think I’m seeing a dimple in all the family chins. I’m going through old family photos now as I pack to move and it reminds me that I have a lot of family watching over me. Or so I would like to believe.

Leave a comment