Tearful Reunions Taking Place In Cornwall

Patrice & Lisa Arrive By Train

We’ve been showing off Cornwall to friends Patrice and Lisa over the last few days and I wanted to share our reunion with you. I think the sweetness in this hello has to be seen.

Patrice was saying “E,” a nickname some of my friends like to call me, only when she says it, it sounds more like “Eeeeeeee!”

I think everyone should have this experience at least once in their life where someone shouts their name with delight and opens their arms for a big embrace. We do it with our children especially when they’re young and I wonder how much better we’d all feel if greetings in general were more joyful and enthusiastic.

Lisa took this picture of me giving Patrice a big happy hug and the one below as well!

Happy Tears To See Each Other

Patrice and I have known each other for ten years and found a compatibility in our communication right from the first when I showed up in her physical therapy office needing help with a painful hip injury.

We chatted our way through my physical therapy appointments always running out of time with more to say so I suggested we get together for dinner after completing my course of therapy and we’ve been friends ever since. It’s difficult for some of us to find close friends later in life especially the kind you can trust with your secrets and it’s comforting to me to know Patrice is that kind of friend.

We’ve seen each other through some extreme times of sweetness and sorrow watching and supporting each other through major life changes that seemed to happen all at once in our 40s. We’ve laughed and cried our way through romantic disasters, shifts in employment, and the death of both of her parents in the last ten years. It has not always been easy.

Our 50s have a different look about them as we’ve worked to create lives that are more of what we want and while we still struggle occasionally with our individual areas of stress and compromise, I think we’ve both learned the joy in holding tightly to moments with people we love and value.

Patrice is here with her partner Lisa for a few days and John and I are having a blast showing them all the places we love. Their clear delight in everything (except apple cider) makes each day an exciting race to see more and I’m taking pictures of them like a mad paparazzi documenting moments we’ll want to remember.

The pictures above were taken at the train station Saturday evening and capture our happy reunion. We were both teary even though we had said goodbye in Atlanta only last month. I feel sure my tears were more about welcoming a dear friend to my life here in Cornwall than about anything else and it thrills me to see her enthusiasm and appreciation for the places I’ve come love and think of as home.

7 thoughts on “Tearful Reunions Taking Place In Cornwall

    • @ Donna ~ No quiz for these girls as they have to leave on Wednesday morning , but we’ve had two meals at the pub already. By the way, you came up in conversation yesterday when we’re hiking up the hill in Boscastle. I think the word grits was involved. You’re so right about friendships in our 50s … thanks for adding your thoughts.

  1. Very lovely photos and thoughts!

    P.S. My daughter is Elisabeth, and I call her E so often, especially in writing, that others have taken to it as well. I’ll have to call out Eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee and run to give her a big hug when we get together for her grandmother’s 90th birthday this weekend (my ex-mother-in-law, whom I still adore). 😉

  2. This is a great thing to do, so many times in our lives, we move on and forget those left behind or those that we have met.
    I wonder how many of us can say that we are still close friends with those that we went to school with, or grew up with.
    So far this year I have reconnected with four old friends that I have not seen in 35 years, and even as a man you just want reach out and give em a hug, and no I am not gay, there have also been a few that I have found that have passed on, crossed the bar as we say.
    Life is so short and we often get caught up in the negative side of life.
    Meeting up with friends is such a happy positive experience that the moments become priceless.
    Tony.

Leave a comment